Wednesday, August 19, 2009


DJ 4XL & One Leg Up Records present:


PRE-ORDERS available NOW!

Peace and blessings! After a LONG and protracted hiatus (your boy got married in July), DJ 4XL is finally back to continue on with OLU’s groundbreaking new “Crispy Nuggets” series! This time, OLU has gotten down with the legendary Grand Puba Maxwell to dust off some unreleased Brand Nubian flavor!!!

As I said last time, One Leg Up has quite a few surprises with this new series, and we are proud to unearth seven Brand Nubian rarities; all done before and in between the classic LPs of “One For All”, “Reel To Reel” and “Foundation”. Of course, as usual, there is some serious hip-hop history behind these tracks….

“How Ya Livin’” is a previously unheard of demo recorded prior to “One For All” and it is produced by none other than, the chocolate boy wonder, Pete Rock! The vintage track comes complete with the Soul Brother #1's trademark cuts as well. “I Ain’t Goin’ Out Like That” is an uptempo early Nubian joint as well. On this track you hear Puba taking parting shots at Strong City Records and declaring that both his Masters of Ceremony days and style is over! “The Devil” is a conscious record, that was scrapped prior to “One For All”, but serious Grand Puba fans will undoubtedly recognize that the hook and song concept was later revisited for the track “Soul Controller” on Puba’s debut LP, “Reel To Reel”. “Mind Your Business”, as you might recall, was a b-side only track released during “Reel To Reel”. This original version sports a Hall and Oates sample that could not be cleared, prompting Dante Ross / Stimulated Dummies to remix the song for the 12”. Fortunately in 2009, the version that Grand Puba preferred is finally available to collectors. “Where is Puba?” is somewhat of an early version of “Check It Out”. The vocalist that appears on this track was an artist who Puba was recording with before Mary J. Blige. The original version of “Probable Cause” features a different beat then the one that made the final version of “Foundation”. As you might recall, the released version used the Grover Washington Jr. “Knucklehead” sample (best known on K-Solo’s “Fugitive”). This version is a LOT better in my opinion and I have no idea why they changed it? Last but not least, the “Love vs. Hate” alternate version treats us to a completely different Sadat X vocal performance and still maintains to be a favorite from the “Foundation” project. Oh yeah, this EP is quite heavy! One Leg Up has returned from an extended absence, but is fast to make up for it with VINTAGE Brand Nubian….Keep your continued attention on our series; we are just warming up and we WILL end this series with our usual bang too…

Remember, just like our previous series, this is the 2nd release out of 5 total limited releases we are putting out in this set. As usual, we will be releasing the unexpected throughout our new "Crispy Nuggets" series and of course at the end of this new series, upon release of the final title, we will again be announcing and giving away another FREE bonus record (OLU-LTD2)! This extremely rare and exclusive bonus record will ONLY be available to purchasers of all five of our releases in this new series. It will be of the same caliber and quality as any regular OLU release (and will be just as crazy as OLU-LTD1)! This is my way of showing love back to those of you who spend hard-earned money to support projects such as these that would otherwise be impossible to release. In order to qualify for the free bonus wax, it will require purchasing OLU-006, OLU-007, OLU-008, OLU-009 and OLU-010. The same rules as last time, and I want to thank everyone in advance for their continued support of our movement.

Ordering information and snippets are posted below.


01. "How Ya Livin’" *
02. "I Ain’t Goin’ Out Like That"
03. "The Devil"

01. "Mind Your Business (Original Mix)"
02. "Where Is Puba?"
03. "Probable Cause (Original Mix)"
04. “Love Vs. Hate” [Alternate Version] +

Produced by Brand Nubian
* Produced by Pete Rock
+ Produced by Lord Finesse

SNIPPETS of all 7 tracks on the EP can be heard here:


- Pre-orders are being taken NOW. Get your order in and reserve your wax.
- Limited to only 200 copies, this collector's EP will not be repressed. Once they're gone, they're gone!
- The EP comes in a standard black jacket with black & white sticker at top.
- Price is 80.00 USD plus shipping & handling fees.
- These records are sold on a first come, first serve basis.
- We are accepting payments worldwide with PayPal in US currency.
- Records will be shipping the week of September 21st, 2009 from New York City, USA

To PRE-ORDER now, send an e-mail to:

In the subject please write: PRE-ORDER: OLU-007

Provide the following information in your e-mail:

1. Your PayPal e-mail
2. Your full name (first and last)
3. Your full shipping address, printed as it should read for the postal carrier in your region
4. Quantity
5. Shipping option (choose from below, either REGULAR or EXPRESS) *

Price per copy is $80.00

****ANNOUNCEMENT**** If you live in FRANCE, it is now mandatory that you pay EMS (express) for insured shipping with tracking. Unfortunately due to slow mailing in that country and various other postal issues we must do this. Hopefully this won’t extend to other territories in the future and we apologize in advance for making this new policy, but we need to address the recurring problems with the French postal system. Thanks.

REGULAR SHIPPING (no insurance/tracking)
For shipping without insurance or tracking provided, please add:

$7.00 - USA [USPS Priority Mail 2-3 days]
$8.00 - CANADA [Airmail Parcel Post 7-10 days]
$14.50 - UK & EUROPE [Airmail Parcel Post 7-10 days]
$17.00 - JAPAN & AUSTRALIA [Airmail Parcel Post 7-10 days]

Add $2.00 for each additional record if purchasing multiple copies.

EXPRESS SHIPPING (with insurance/tracking)
For shipping that includes insurance and tracking details, please add:

$20.00 - USA [USPS Express Mail next day]
$25.00 - CANADA [USPS Express Mail Int'l 3-5 days]
$32.00 - UK & EUROPE [USPS Express Mail Int'l 3-5 days]
$30.00 - JAPAN & AUSTRALIA [USPS Express Mail Int'l 3-5 days]

Add $3.00 for each additional record if purchasing multiple copies.

Please verify carefully that your shipping address is 100% correct to avoid any shipping errors.

After your e-mail is received, we will send you a PayPal invoice with the proper total. When your payment is complete, your copies will be reserved and in queue to be shipped the week of May 3rd, 2009.

Make sure to get your pre-order e-mails in to us as soon as possible as this record will sell out quickly. In the event that we have sold out all 200 copies, you will receive an e-mail notification that all copies have been sold and you will not receive a PayPal invoice.

PLEASE NOTE: Our shipping prices only reflect our cost and are not inflated by any means. Please keep in mind that the US Postal Service has raised their rates due to the rising cost of gas. We have done our best to keep costs low and prices as fair as possible based on the amount of capital required to make a limited 200 run vinyl release and ensure that the artists involved are compensated while maintaining the highest level of quality for our product. This is a very special project and no shorts have been taken whatsoever in making this EP a reality.

Any and all inquiries regarding this release and/or purchasing questions can be directed to me at:

Thanks for your continued support.

-Haj "4XL"

Mr. Puba Maxwell signifying for OLU:

1 comment:

T.R.O.Y. said...

Looks dope, BTW.
Just sent in my order.